The Grenadier Forum
Register Now for enhanced site access.
INEOS Agents, Dealers or Commercial vendors please contact admin@theineosforum.com for a commercial account.

Petrol/Gas US Oil for B58 Engines

FlyingTexan

Grenadier Owner
Local time
6:25 AM
Reaction score
***If anyone see's something here I need to be corrected on please let me know! I'm no expert :) ****

I've been doing quite a bit of digging and questioning of the B58 guys in BMW forums. I really feel the powerplant's oil recommendations need to be region specific. I'm still going through things but there's two main specs to consider in the US. BMW LL-01 and BMW LL-04. I'm not even going to mess around with 0w20 as far as weight as concerned. 5w30/5w40 for me. HT/HS is much better in those weights and still meets the LL01/LL04 Spec.

The Ll-17FE and 0w20 oils are with fuel efficiency in mind and anyone running a B58 engine under load (mods or boosts) is saying to stay away from it. Given the Grenadier has a tow rating of 7,800lbs and is 3 tons itself I don't see the 0w20 anywhere near my vehicle (not to mention the 100+ Texas heat). Their aim is to get you to the end of warranty in a safe daily driver manner. Not make a 300+K mile vehicle. I was recently watching a video of Takumi Kurosawa who designed the Nissan GT-R's engine. He said use the cheapest oil to spec and change every 5k miles, filter every 10k. I don't know if I'll stick to that close but I don't think I'll be taking it much past 7,500mi.

So the BMW B58 Spec is LL01/LL04 oils. The LL04 has higher wear additives and would be better but some are saying it doesn't play nice with higher sulfur fuels and isn't recommend for the US (EU has max 10ppm while US has 10ppm normal and max of 50ppm). I also believe it's only for B58 motors with a particulate filter. Do we have that?