The Grenadier Forum
Register Now for enhanced site access.
INEOS Agents, Dealers or Commercial vendors please contact admin@theineosforum.com for a commercial account.

Developing a Symbol (a very long post)

Krabby

Global Grenadier 0076
Forum Moderator
Grenadier Owner
Lifetime Supporter
Local time
3:19 PM
Reaction score
I am not a graphic designer, but I love graphic design. I have a decent eye and the most basic of Adobe Illustrator skill, so I foolishly fantasize about being able to “do” graphic design. I actually do know a little bit about logo design, but again, it’s probably more about knowing what I like and dislike as opposed to creating things. Nevertheless, I try, but please take this post with a very large grain of salt.

I stated in a previous post that I like “old things” in both function and form. Many contemporary items might work better, but many don’t look nearly as good. Even though some may argue capability, there’s no debate that the OLD DEFENDER looks waaaay better than the NEW ONE! I would offer that same opinion about the Mustang (1965 and 2023) and nearly every vehicle I spoke about HERE!

When it comes to design I’m also a huge logo nerd. There are some fantastic current logos but I truly love the classics. These timeless logos have not only stood the test of time, they still manage to pull it off well today. Just think of the FERRARI LOGO – which despite evolving some over the years to remain contemporary would look completely familiar in 1950s Maranello. There are many classic car/car company logos that have managed this fete - the CHEVY BOWTIE, MERCEDES TRI-STAR, MASERATI TRIDENT, and the wings of ASTON MARTIN and BENTLEY.

There are type-face logos that have stood the test of time too – Ford’s scripted BLUE OVAL, the slanted ALPINE A, the special interlocking Rs of ROLLS-ROYCE and a certain circular combination of a V AND W. Good design really is timeless.