The Grenadier Forum
Register Now for enhanced site access.
INEOS Agents, Dealers or Commercial vendors please contact admin@theineosforum.com for a commercial account.

CTEK D250SE - why do I need one?

Trialmaster

Grenadier Owner
Local time
10:04 PM
Reaction score
There is a tremendous amount of information posted by some very knowledgeable people on here. I have a Trialmaster, which as we know is fitted with a CTEK SMARTPASS 120S.

There are threads discussing the fitment of a D250SE, with detailed explanations on how to fit it.

My question is why would I need a D250SE if I am not going to add a solar panel? My expectation is that the Smartness is designed to manage both batteries. Therefore, in my circumstance why spend £300 on fitting one, unless it is to prevent the Starter battery draining unnecessarily? Hopefully, someone can help me out here.

Last edited:

Kruegerruda

Grenadier Owner
Local time
11:04 PM
Reaction score
If I have understood the posts correctly: The 250 SE charges the secondary battery optimally and keeps it in the best condition. Interesting for people with cool box or other consumers. And of course for the solar panel option.

AnD3rew

Inch deep and a mile wide.
Grenadier Owner
Lifetime Supporter
Local time
7:04 AM
Reaction score
If you aren’t looking for solar input capacity and not looking for future lithium potential then you probably don’t need one. In theory it should improve the way it charges the second battery. I don’t know if this has been definitively proven for the Grenadier yet. INEOS appears to he claiming (indirectly and confusingly) that they have it all covered in their software, but that is also yet to be definitevely proven in real life and so far trust in their software has taken some blows. If you don’t think you need it at the moment then hold off and let the community build the experience. You can add anytime

MarkH

Grenadier Ordered
Local time
7:04 AM
Reaction score