The Grenadier Forum
Register Now for enhanced site access.
INEOS Agents, Dealers or Commercial vendors please contact admin@theineosforum.com for a commercial account.

Rear seating comparison Grenadier vs classic 110 Defender

Local time
7:20 PM
Reaction score
Hi folks,

studied the pics recently of the IG seating comparison btw SW and Utility. Anyone able to concrete compare the Utility rear seating with the rear bench of a classic 110 Defender, especially when it comes to the steepness angle of the back? Is it at least a little bit more literally laid back than the classic 110? Cheers

Clunster

Production/Transit
Local time
Reaction score
I am no expert on Landies but spent a week doing 1200 miles across France in the back seat of a 110. The IG Utility seat angle is about the same as a 110. What makes the IG considerably more comfortable is the Recaro seat cushioning. If you want more comfort then it's a few bolts to move the metal seat mounting plate to the more relaxed Belstaff vehicle placement. About a 5 min job.

DCPU

Grenadier Owner
Local time
Reaction score
I always found that the seats in my Lightweight were about the most comfortable. I think it had something to do with the relatively upright seat back.

It's strange to see people now seeing that as a negative in relation to the Grenadier. Screenshot_20220909_143728.jpg

emax

Photo Contest Winner
Grenadier Owner
Lifetime Supporter
Local Group Moderator
Local time
8:20 PM
Reaction score
A beauty, looks good. A Series 2 ...

Is that yours?

DCPU

Grenadier Owner
Local time
Reaction score
No that's not mine ~ ripped a photo off the net just to illustrate the seats.

bemax

Grenadier Owner
Lifetime Supporter
Local time
Reaction score
Many people have mir a sleeping than a sitting position in their car. It is always amazing what people have to change when their seating is controlled during a road safety training

DaveB

Grenadier Owner
Local time
4:20 AM
Reaction score